Chicken Lasagna? Why not!

Sometimes you try to plan ahead and then still need to improvise.  This happened to me the other day. I decided I was going to make lasagna with ground beef. I made my grocery list and purchased all the ingredients 2 days prior. IMG_0114I started to pull the ingredients from the refrigerator and lay them on the counter. I was excited to use the ricotta cheese I had purchased from Caputo Brothers Creamery in my lasagna.

I took out my ground beef and then I saw it! I saw that the burger was brown….Oh no! I quickly look for the expiration date and there it was, EXPIRED yesterday. UGH!  Now what was I going to do?  My mind went through the contents of the fridge. Aha! I had leftover chicken from the day before that I could use instead.

I wasn’t sure how this was going to turn out but I had no other choice so onto the cutting board with the cooked chicken. I began sautéing the zucchini in a saucepan with onion.

After that was cooked, I began to assemble my lasagna. I placed the lasagna into the oven at 375° to cook for about 45 minutes. IMG_0125

While I was waiting I placed some the fresh ricotta I had left in a small bowl with berries and a drizzle of honey. YUM!IMG_0124

The lasagna was a success!  Even though it wasn’t what I initially intended on making, it turned out to be a very tasty dish. The family approved! My husband thought it was a pleasant change from beef and asked for me to make it again. What could have been a big FAIL turned into a family favorite!IMG_0126

~ Tori

Leave a Reply

