Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! Ok, so… now what? Should I start making my 2017 resolutions – resolutions I probably won’t keep for more than a week or 2, if I’m lucky?! I think this year instead of setting myself up for failure, I am going to really think about what is going to benefit me. 

I bought a day planner for the year instead of relying on the calendar app on my phone. The app seemed to be forgetting my appointments or not giving me enough information so that I could be at the right place with the right supplies. I really do much better writing things down. That way I can visually look at what I need to do and then cross it off.  Crossing items off the list is the best feeling! In my planner was a quote from Gandhi and it read:

“Keep your thoughts positive, because your thoughts become your words.

Keep your words positive, because your words become your behaviors.

Keep your behaviors positive, because your behaviors become your habits.

Keep your habits positive, because your habits become your values.

Keep your values positive, because your values become your destiny.”

So “positive” seems to be the key. Wow! Let me think about that for moment… Being “positive” is sometimes really hard to do. Especially when things go wrong, someone treats you badly, you become sick or one of the other million things happens to bring you down. Staying positive affects everything in your life and by being positive your life has better meaning and purpose. So for me, the best resolution I could make for 2017 is – not that I am going to work out or release 25 pounds or wake up earlier… I’m going to be “positive” in everything I choose to do and say.

What about you? What are your resolutions for the new year? Let’s make it a positive 2017! img_0027

~Tori

Leave a Reply

